Swanson wins men’s city tennis title; Boyle women’s champ

Randy Palmer/Times-Herald Brian Swanson returns a shot to Brad Justason during the Moose Jaw Ford city championship men’s tennis final on Sunday afternoon.

When he’s not working on city council matters, it turns out Brian Swanson is still pretty good at tennis.

The longtime Moose Jaw Tennis Club member picked up the fourth men’s city championship of his career over the weekend and did so in commanding fashion, rolling through the modified double-knockout draw and defeating Brad Justason 6-1, 6-0 in the Moose Jaw Ford men’s final on Sunday afternoon.

Even though the temperatures were less than ideal — pushing into the low 30 C range — Swanson was still able to keep his cool and keep his game at the level it needed to be.

“When it’s hot like this it makes it a little tougher, but Brad’s in pretty good shape and we play a lot in the heat to get used to this,” he said. “It was a great tournament, there were some really good games.”

Swanson defeated Aaron Pilon in his first game before downing Kim Hagan to earn his spot in the final. Justason downed Ray Ritsco to open his side of the draw and Scott Strong in the semifinal.

“It was kind of a war of attrition going in, some of our better players were injured so it might have been a different result if everyone had been in good health,” Swanson said. “So I’ll just take it as it comes.”

Things were far closer in the Moose Jaw Ford women’s final as Joan Boyle and Joan Buckmaster went to a third game tiebreaker to decide the title. Boyle emerged victorious with a 6-7, 6-4, 7-4 victory.

Eric Swalm defeated Rylan Taylor to win the junior boys championship; Samantha Swalm took a 6-4, 5-7, 7-4 win over Emily Blackmore to claim the junior girls title.

In the Premier Collision Centre men’s doubles event, reigning provincial senior open champions Neal Wasylyshyn and Dave Busse defeated Mike Denne and Jim Kirkpatrick in the final 6-1, 7-5. Busse and Wasylyshyn won by default in the first round before downing Swanson and Hagan in the semifinal. Denne and Kirkpatrick defeated Greg Gower and Brad Justason in their first round match followed by John Fischer and Ryan Ellingson in the semifinal.

The Premier Collision mixed doubles tournament final saw Fischer and Bridgette Wiebe defeat Denne and Jeanette Rattee 6-4, 6-4. The eventual champions opened with a win over Ritsco and Doris Ritsco before defeating Gerry Gieni and Joan Buckmaster in the semifinal. Denne and Rattee downed John Adamache and Catherine Sinclair in their first game and Clayton Sjoberg and Joan Boyle in their semifinal.